White Meat Embutido


The month of June is the start of the school year and Embutido is one of the favorite school baons (or maybe your teacher’s tinda?)– eitherway this is one Filipino dish that when done perfectly is absolutely good !

This is the “healthier” version of Filipino Meatloaf– I used ground chicken breast instead of the traditional ground pork.

 

Embutidong Puti

Ingredients

500 g Chicken Breast (ground)
1/2 c   Carrots (finely chopped)
1 c      Sweet Ham or Vienna Chicken Sausage(chopped)
3 tbsp Green bell pepper (minced)
3 tbsp Red bell pepper (minced)
1/3 c   Sweet pickle relish
1/4 c   Raisins
3 pcs   Eggs (whole)
1/2 c   Cheddar cheese(grated)
1 tbsp Cornstarch
Whole  Boiled eggs
aluminum foil

Procedure

Prepare a steamer and set aside.

In a bowl, combine all the ingredients (except for the boiled eggs and chicken sausage) and mix until well blended.Divide the mixture into 2 to 4 portions (depending on how many you want to make).

Spread and flatten the mixture onto the center of each foil,Place Boiled eggs at the center of each mixture. Hold the foil onto your hand and roll until the ends of the mixture covers the egg. Roll the aluminum foil into a tightly packed log about 1″ to 2″ in diameter, sealing on both ends. Repeat with the remaining mixture.

Place the embutido in a steamer and steam for an hour.

Food Notes :

  1. Let it cool or Refrigerate before serving.
  2. Best eaten with your favourite catsup (Banana or Tomato)
  3. Pan fry until golden brown and make it into a sandwich – use pandesal !
  4. Store in freezer up to 20 days!

About Chef Day

My Passion : Cook, Eat and Celebrate Life !
This entry was posted in Philippine Cuisine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to White Meat Embutido

  1. trissalicious says:

    Hi Chef Day! This looks like the BEST embutido that I’ve seen – and am so glad it’s a healthy version… I’ve been trying to eat healthy as well and we all know Filipino food ain’t that healthy.

  2. Adora's Box says:

    Lovely chicken embutido. Still fully as loaded as the classic. Love this as sandwich meat, with extra mayo . Yum!

  3. ljoy704 says:

    I have always made a chicken version. I find I like chicken much more than beef.

  4. Boyet says:

    i always like “embutido’ made from pork but with your post I think i have to try using minced chicken soon…looks so delicious…:)

  5. I’ve never tried using chicken for embutido but I will definitely make some now. This looks great and a heathly version is a plus!

  6. Katherine says:

    I don’t think I have ever actually tried a white embutido. It looks fabulous. What a great dish for Junes theme…

  7. Embutido is one of my all time favorite fiesta dishes! Thanks for sharing this.

  8. Pingback: How to Make Binatog (Boiled White Corn with Coconut and Sugar) | Jun-Blog

  9. Oggi says:

    The slices look so pretty and festive, mas healthy pa with chicken instead of pork.

  10. They say that Pino food is unhealthy but look at this dish it’s a healthier version. Embutido is one of my all time favorites too. Thanks for dropping by my site Chef.

  11. Pingback: Ginataang Mais (Corn and Sticky Rice Pudding with Coconut Milk) | my nappytales

  12. Trisha says:

    Interesting! I didnt even know you can make chicken embutido (really shows how ignorant I am!!) That looks awesome!

  13. titaflips says:

    This is awesome! Healthy and so pretty pa!

  14. Nice Embutido!! Embutido reminds me meatloaf which I really want to make. Unfortunately, I live by myself and whole roll can be too much. I love Embutido pan-fried until crispy.

  15. Embutido says:

    Yummy Embutido!!! for sure i’ll try your recipe

  16. An Lee says:

    Love to try this!!

    Guys?!! Did you try at Charlies? Charlie’s grind and grill is deteriorating in quality and taste because Chef Robby Goco has left the group. Without Chef Robby and his personal touch to Charlie’s Burgers, it will never be the same. Ayaw ko na kumain sa Charlie’s!

  17. Kiezia says:

    I will try to make this, i hope it will be perfectly cook and delicious as your cook.

  18. Sherwin says:

    Hello!

    Paano pag walang available na pickle relish, is there an alternative? I’m an OFW and pickles na galing India lang nakikita ko sa mga supermarket. I’m planning to make an embutido with ground chicken and beef, okay lang kaya sila pagsamahin? Thanks and more power to your blog!

  19. Pingback: Ginataang Mais (Corn and Sticky Rice Pudding with Coconut Milk) | Cuddles and Crumbs

Leave a Reply

